You are here: Home / News & Events

News & Events

CDD graduate fellow receives support from Gerald R. Ford Presidential Foundation

2015-2016 CDD Fellow Jessica A. Kurr has received a grant from the Gerald R. Ford Presidential Foundation for research on her book project, When the Fed Speaks. With the help of this grant, Jessica hopes to builds on research she conducted for her dissertation about the role of the Federal Reserve in economic policy debates. The project examines the differing rhetorical strategies of influential Fed chairs, including Marriner Eccles, William McChesney Martin Jr., Arthur Burns, Paul Volcker, Alan Greenspan, and Ben Bernanke. The research grant from the Ford Presidential Foundation will provide Jessica the resources necessary to conduct research on Arthur Burns, who was Fed chair during the Nixon, Ford, and Carter administrations. In addition to contributing to public understanding of the changing role of the Fed in economic debates, Jessica hopes to illuminate the challenges involved in engaging the public in debates over complex economic policies.

Mary E. Stuckey Delivers Kenneth Burke Lecture

Mary E. Stuckey Delivers Kenneth Burke Lecture

Mary Stuckey Presents "The Art of Anger in US Presidential Elections" (Photo: Jarid Waniger)

On March 31st, the Center for Democratic Deliberation hosted the 24th annual Kenneth Burke Lecture. Mary E. Stuckey, Professor of Communication at Georgia State University, presented “The Art of Anger in U.S. Presidential Elections.” In her talk, Stuckey highlighted the way that anger has been used productively—and dangerously—in presidential campaigns; she focused in particular on the campaigns of Franklin Roosevelt, Barry Goldwater, and Donald Trump. Stuckey not only highlighted how anger can inspire confidence in voters because an angry candidate’s passion is obvious, but she also called attention to the vacuum anger can create, wherein voters’ emotions are heightened but there is no policy to support as an alternative to that anger.

Birkle Student Engagement Award Presented

Birkle Student Engagement Award Presented

Barry Bram, Special Assistant to the Vice President for Student Affairs (left), with Emily McDonald and CDD Director Debra Hawhee. (Photo: Jarid Waniger)

Each year, the Center for Democratic Deliberation awards the Nancy and Joseph Birkle Student Engagement Award, established through the generosity of Gretchen A. Birkle. The award goes to at least two students in the College of Liberal Arts who have made significant contributions to public deliberation.

This year, the CDD awarded three awards. Jessica A. Kurr, Jeremy D. Johnson, and Jordan Todd won the Birkle Award for their work with the Penn State Debate Society. Emily McDonald won the award for her efforts to collaborate with student governments across Pennsylvania during her term as President of the University Park Undergraduate Association. Nathan Larkin won the Birkle Award for his work with Fossil Free PSU.

Read more about the award and this year's winners here.